Monday 26 February 2024

Mayhem Players in GB World ChampionshIp Call Up

Felicity Gregory and Mark Colquitt in action for the Mayhem (Photo by @haganovaphoto)

Four players from the Widnes–based Mayhem sledge team have been selected to play for the Great Britain national side at the 2024 World Para Ice Hockey Championships in Norway. 

Mark Colquitt, Karl Nicholson, Dean Lahan and Felicity Gregory will be part of the 18-strong squad that will compete in Pool B of the championships in Skien, Norway from the 15th-20th April.

Great Britain will go up against Norway and Germany, who were relegated from the A-Pool last year, as well as Sweden, Kazakhstan, and France in the six-team tournament.

Team GB Head Coach Peggy Assinck – who is also a Mayhem player – said: 

“I am looking forward to working with this skilled group of athletes this year as we prepare for the Pool B world championship. We have a nice mixture of four rookies making their GB team debut and several experienced veterans to round out the team. We’ve been working hard since last October’s tournament in Astana, and I’m looking forward to leading the team in Skien in April as we look to cement our B-Pool Team status.”

Mayhem team manager Peter Hagan said of the player call ups:

“Everyone at the Mayhem is so proud of those selected to GB for World Championships, especially looking at the GB squad. Mark & Karl are senior players with the national programme with Dean & Felicity building up their international experience which can only help both the mens & women’s teams. We all wish the team good luck & will be following them over in Norway.”

The Full GB squad is:


Bryan Hackworth – Sheffield Steelkings

Jodi Hill – Cardiff Huskies


Damien Barker – Sheffield Steelkings

Shannon Couch – Cardiff Huskies

Mark Colquitt – Manchester Mayhem, 

Jonathon Le Galloudec – Cardiff Huskies

Paul Brown – Sheffield Steelkings

Felicity Gregory – Manchester Mayhem

Gary Farmer – Peterborough Phantoms


Callum Shakespeare – Peterborough Phantoms

Tyler Christopher – Cardiff Huskies

Karl Nicholson – Manchester Mayhem

Dani Czernuszka-Watts – Cardiff Huskies

Dean Lahan – Manchester Mayhem

Stacey Quirk – Peterborough Phantoms

John Mellor – Cape Breton Sledgehammers

Josh Davies – Cardiff Huskies

Ben O’Brien – Sheffield Steelkings


Netminder: Susi Rogers-Hartley (Peterborough Phantoms)

Defence: Leanne Emmerson (Cardiff Huskies), Jade Williams (Sheffield Steelkings), Gaz Lawton (Sheffield Steelkings)

Forwards: Dan May (Cardiff Huskies), Emily McLean (GB Women)

Team Staff:

Peggy Assinck – head coach

Patrick Assinck – assistant coach

Breanna Wagner – assistant coach / equipment

Lauren Bolger – sports therapist

Shirley Packwood – team manager / medic