Monday 24 June 2019

Summer Classic Cup: Riverside Raiders (Widnes) 5 - Shropshire Huskies (Telford) 9

Sunday 23rd June 2019: Howies UK Ice Hockey Summer Classic Cup
Riverside Raiders (Widnes) 5 – Shropshire Huskies (Telford) 9
Period Scores: 2-2, 0-3, 3-4
Penalties in Minutes: Raiders 8 – Huskies 10
Match Officials: Chris Wells – Referee, William Fielden and Ray Ormes Linesmen
MVPs: Raiders – Ben Donkin / Huskies – Jamie Moorhouse
Scorer: Lucy Breeze
Timekeeper: Howard Smith
Match Report & Photos by Paul Breeze

The Riverside Raiders lost out 5-9 to the Shropshire Huskies in their latest Summer Classic Cup game at Planet Ice Widnes on Sunday.
The Raiders took an early 2-goal lead with strikes from Mike Filek and Luke Williams but the visitors pulled the score back to 2-2 by the first break.
The Huskies edged ahead in the second period and three unanswered goals gave them a 2-5 lead with one period left to play.
The Raiders staged a brief comeback with goals from Jack Walker and James Kelly early in the third period to pull the score back to 4-5 with 14 minutes left to play but two quick-fire goals within 30 seconds of each other put the Huskies firmly back in control.
Two more Shropshire goals put the game beyond the reach of the Raiders but the home side kept battling to the final buzzer and they did have the last word with a second goal for Jack Walker with just 6 seconds remaining on the clock.
The Raiders have two more home games coming up in the Summer Classic Cup at Planet Ice Widnes – on Sunday 7th July against the Wyre Seagulls and Sunday 14th July against the Blackburn Buccaneers. Face off for both games is 4.30pm and admission is free.
The Earle Road Elks team have a charity game this Sunday 30th June at Planet Ice Widnes. The opponents are the Manchester Swarm team and the match is being played in aid of the Pulmonary Hypertension Association UK. The game faces off at 4.30pm and admission is free, although donations are welcome.

Full team lineups and player stats:

Riverside Raiders: Alex Hannah, Michael Filek (1+0, 2PIM), Rob Melvin (NM 60 min), James Kelly (1+1), Matthew Lennox (2PIM), Howard Hughes, Luke Williams (1+1), Ben Donkin (0+1, 2PIM), Jeff Chapman-Watson (0+1), Jack Walker (2+1), Eemeli Vuorihovi (0+1), Bobak Samari, Stephen Harvey, David Priestley (0+1, 2PIM), Michael Parkin (0+1), Mike Teinert

Shropshire Huskies: Jodie Alderson (NM 60 min), George Garbett (2PIM), Dan Gadsden, Antony Stevens (2+1, 2PIM), Scott Williams (0+1, 2PIM), Benjamin Chamley (1+0, 2PIM), Alexander Phillips (1+2), Guntis Sjomkans (1+0), Craig Bannister (1+1), Carl Hindley (3+0), Laurence Le Vay (2PIM), Jamie Moorhouse